真面目

2021年7月8日 - 9月30日 London

“我成功了,因为它比我可使用的任何方法更清晰地说明我是谁。这件作品就是我的身份。” ——大卫·史密斯《传统与身份》,1959

唐妮诗画廊很高兴推出一个专注于肖像的在线展览。正如展览名称《真面目》所暗示的那样,展览的主要关注点是肖像的意义、意识形态和颠覆性力量。西方艺术中的肖像画于个人主的建构和表达至关重要。它使艺术家能利用美学和政治的表手段明新的自我形式。然而,当代艺术常使用更社会化的方式写照;在他的直系朋友核心圈子之建立系。

 

Rakajoo 的同名画作《金发》以他标志性的宽阔笔触呈现,展现了一个目光中肯的男人。他的身影被放置在一个描绘巴黎流行的素食主义者场所的大画布中,并展现莫里斯·梅洛 - 庞蒂(Maurice Merleau-Ponty)描述为“人物的立场(荷兰国际集团)反对外部和身体空间的双重视野的一种体验。”Rakajoo 发自本心的作品给人一种对当代性充分研究、深入研究的印象。他将自己的肖像置于彼此的互中,在个人和群体之建立系,从而暗示将身份解读为集体建构。

 

在张大力的写实肖像画中,文字“AK-47”与人形无缝融合,打破了物质与思想的界限。 艺术家将我们的当代自我描绘为一个永无止境的叙事集合,由社会对个人的压倒一切的影响所定义。

 

肖像画与图像的文化和政治作用密切相关。1789 年之后,肖像画开始主导法国视觉文化,解决了如何将主体转变为公民的复杂问题。法裔巴勒斯坦艺术家阿卜杜勒·拉赫曼·卡塔纳尼探讨了当国籍的建构变得更加复杂时失去公民身份和无国籍的状态。他的作品《穿蓝色背带裤的女孩》描绘了一个正在玩耍的女孩。作品是由重新利用的油桶制成的,肖像的形态被嵌入材料中,两者的分离变得越发困难。在艺术二人组 Faile 的 《Liberté Unité》作品中,肖像的动机来自街道,是社会活动,人们互动和发生的地方,也是纽约和美国的转型和变化面貌的综合体——尤其是受 Black Lives Matter 运动的影响。最终产品是超越视觉效果和多层的。

 

随着社交媒体的兴起,记录肖像的主要功能失去了意义;互联网上的自拍和照片都被认为是肖像画。展览的目的是质疑肖像的真实性,强调肖像是一个多层次的结构,而不是无尽的相似。

True Face

8 July - 30 November 2021 London

“I’ve made it because it comes closer to saying who I am than any other method I can use. This work is my identity.” —David Smith ‘Tradition and Identity’, 1959

Danysz Gallery is pleased to present an online exhibition devoted to portraits. As the exhibition title True Face suggests, the exhibition’s main preoccupations are the meaning, the ideology and the subversive power of portraits. Portraiture in Western art has been crucial for construction and articulation of individualism. It allowed artists to appropriate the means of representation, both aesthetic and political, and articulate new forms of selfhood. However, contemporary artists often use portraiture in a more social way; to draw links between their immediate group of friends or inner circle.

 

Rakajoo’s eponymous painting, Blond, rendered in his signature broad brushstrokes, shows a man with a pertinent gaze. His figure is placed in the foreground of a large canvas depicting a popular vegan spot in Paris and allowing for an experience that Maurice Merleau-Ponty described as a “figure stand(ing) out against the double horizon of external and bodily space.” Rakajoo’s visceral works give an impression of a well-researched, in-depth study of contemporaneity.
The artist places his portraits in an interaction with each other, establishing connections between an individual and a group, thus suggesting the reading of identity as a collective construct.

 

In Zhang Dali’s photorealistic portraits the written text ‘AK-47’ blends seamlessly into the human form, collapsing the boundary between physical and ideological. The artist represents our contemporary self as a collection of never-endings and narratives defined by the overriding influence of the society on an individual.

 

Portraiture is closely interlinked with the cultural and political role of images. After 1789, portraiture came to dominate French visual culture addressing the complex issue of how to turn subjects into citizens. French-Palestinian artist, Abdul Rahman Katanani, explores the loss of citizenship and statelessness, when the construction of identity becomes even more complex. His work Girl Blue Salopette, depicting a girl at play, is made out of repurposed oil barrels. The portrait, or a human form, is embedded in the material and the separation of both becomes increasingly difficult. In the case of Liberté Unité by artistic duo Faile the driving motive behind the portrait is the street. The place of interaction and happening, a composite of transformation and changing face of New York and the US – not least thanks to the impact of Black Lives Matter. The final product is decidedly hyper visual and multi-layered. 

 

With the rise of social media, one of the main functions of portrait, producing likeness, lost its meaning; selfies and photographs on Internet are all recognized as portraiture. The exhibition’s aim is to put the idea of truthfulness of a portrait into question emphasizing the portrait as a multi-layered construct rather than a seamless resemblance.